Physician Fellow Members

Fellows of the American Vein & Lymphatic Society (FAVLS) are recognized for their substantial commitment and contribution to the specialty of venous disease treatment and care. Their commitment to the field is shown through volunteerism, authored publications, education, years of practice, leadership and any other quality or behavior that leads to the advancement of vein care. Fellows of the American Vein & Lymphatic Society are members who have already achieved Senior Member status. Fellows are designated with “FAVLS.” View a list of our current Fellow Members below or become a Fellow Member.

Application Requirements:
Senior Members interested in obtaining Fellow status must complete an application using Pathway 1 Application (Academic) or Pathway 2 Application (Experience).

Pathway I (Academic)

  1. Must be a Senior Member of the Society
  2. Must have passed an examination designated by the American Board of Venous & Lymphatic Medicine
  3. Must provide two (2) letters from existing Fellows of the Society
  4. Must have accomplished of three of the following:
    • Must have published, in a peer-reviewed journal, one or more articles related to venous and/or lymphatic disorders (excluding abstracts and letters) 
    • Publication in a textbook or a clinical chapter in a textbook of venous and/or lymphatic disorders
    • Presentation of one or more papers or invited lectures at an Annual Congress of this corporation or of the Union Internationale de Phlebologie ("UIP")
    • Served on the Board of this corporation or the Foundation for Venous & Lymphatic Disease or of the UIP or another member society of the UIP
    • Served on an advisory committee of the Board
    • Received a research or abstract award from the Board
    • Taught one or more courses on venous and/or/lymphatic disorders at a regional symposium or Annual Congress of this corporation
  5. Once awarded the Fellow understands and agrees to attend one Annual Congress of the AVLS every two years for the first six years of being a Fellow. If requirements are NOT met, status will be returned to Senior Member.

Maintenance of Fellow Status

  1. Annual Dues payment
  2. Attendance of Annual Congress every other year of the first 6 years of Fellow Membership

Download Application for Fellow Member – Pathway 1

Pathway 2 (Experience)

  1. Must be a Senior Member for a minimum of two (2) consecutive years
  2. Must have passed an examination designated by the American Board of Venous & Lymphatic Medicine
  3. Must have attended three (3) of last five (5) Annual Congress
  4. Must have served in an active role on standing or advisory committees of the Board of the Society or the Foundation
  5. Must possess the RPhS CCI credential in Phlebology, and/or an active RVT, RVS, or RVPI credential
  6. Must provide two (2) letters from existing Fellows of the Society
  7. Must have a combination of at least four (4) of the following education/participation activities:
    • Serve as a Board Director of the Society or Foundation
    • Serve as an instructor in an Annual Congress, regional symposium, or UIP
    • Present an abstract at the Annual Congress or UIP
    • Present a Poster at the Annual Congress or UIP
    • Serve as a preceptor for the Society or other recognized vein organization
    • Be the recipient of a Society research award
    • Be the recipient of an award for an abstract presented at an Annual Congress
    • Have served as a Speaker's Bureau Committee member
    • Have provided services in the field of venous and/or/lymphatic disorders on a mission trip in an underprivileged region
  8. All Fellows are required to attend at least one annual meeting of this corporation every two years for the first six years of fellowship.
  9. Within the first six years after election to fellowship, Fellows who do not meet the ongoing requirements for fellowship will return to the status of Senior Members but may apply for reinstatement for Fellow status upon re-establishing eligibility.
  10. Applicants for Fellow shall be elected by a unanimous vote of the Board members in attendance at a regular meeting of the Board.

Maintenance of Fellow Status

  1. Annual Dues payment
  2. Attendance at Annual Congress every other year of the first 6 years of Fellow Membership.

Download Application for Fellow Member – Pathway 2

List of AVLS Fellows

Claudio Allegra, MD, FAVLS
Lisa Amatangelo, MD, RVT, FAVLS
Cynthia B. Asbjornsen, DO, FAVLS
Thomas Ashton, MD, FAVLS
Nisha Bunke, MD, FAVLS
Anton Butie, MD, FAVLS
Andre Cornu-Thenard, MD, FAVLS
Robert D. Cushing, MD, FACEP, FAVLS
Stephen F. Daugherty, MD, FACS, FACPh, RVT, FAVLS
Liza Eden Giammaria, MD, MPH, FAVLS
Thomas L. Eaton, MD, FASA, FAVLS
Steven M. Elias, MD, FACS, FAVLS
Mark D. Forrestal, MD, FAVLS
Arnost Fronek, MD, PhD, FAVLS
Helane Fronek, MD, FACP, FAVLS
Claude Garde, MD, FAVLS
Kathleen Gibson, MD, FACS, FAVLS
Mitchel P. Goldman, MD, FAVLS
Wayne S. Gradman, MD, FAVLS
Louis Grondin, MD, MBA, FAVLS
Jean-Jerome Guex, MD, FAVLS
Clint A. Hayes, MD, FACS, RVT, RPVI, FAVLS
Phillip A. Hertzman, MD, FACP, FAAFP, FAVLS
Douglas A. Hill, MD, FAVLS, FCFP
Bruce Hoyle, MD, FAVLS
Karl S. Hubach, MD, RVT, RPhS, FAVLS
Mark N. Isaacs, MD, FAVLS, FAAFP, RPhS
Douglas H. Joyce, DO, FACOS, FAVLS
Lowell S. Kabnick, MD, FACS, FAVLS, RPhS
Neil Khilnani, MD, FSIR, FAVLS

Margaret Mann, MD, FAAD, FAVLS
Robert F. Merchant, MD, FACS, FAVLS
Robert J. Min, MD, MBA, FAVLS, FSIR
Vineet Mishra, MD, FAVLS, FAAD
Mark Meissner, MD, FAVLS, DABVLM
Nick Morrison, MD, FACS, FAVLS, RPhS
Eric Mowatt-Larsen, MD, FAVLS, RPhS
Roger Y. Murray, MD, FAVLS
Luis Navarro, MD, FAVLS
Jerry G. Ninia, MD, RVT, FACOG, FAVLS
Jose A. Olivencia, MD, FICS, FACA, FAVLS
Barry Oswalt, MD, FACS, FAVLS
Timothy D. Parish, MD, MBBS, FAVLS, RVT, RPVI
Hugo Partsch, MD, MBBS, FAVLS, RVT, RPVI
Michel Perrin, MD, FAVLS
C. Christopher Pittman, MD, FAVLS, FACR
Pauline Raymond-Martimbeau, MD, FAVLS
David L. Rollins, MD, FACS, FAVLS
Armen L. Roupenian, MD, FACS, RVT, RPhS, RPVI, FAVLS
Michel Schadeck, MD, FAVLS
Marlin W. Schul, MD, MBA, RVT, FAVLS
Ulrich Schultz-Ehrenburg, MD, PhD, FAVLS
Saundra S. Spruiell, DO, FAVLS, RPVI
Kenneth L. Todd III, MD, FAVLS
Satish V. Vayuvegula, MD, MS, FAVLS
Frederic Vin, MD, FAVLS
Robert A. Weiss, MD, FAAD, FAVLS
Thomas Wright, MD, FACP, RVT, FAVLS
Robert L. Worthington-Kirsch, MD, FSIR, FCIRSE, FAVLS, RVT, RPVI, RPhS
Steven Zimmet, MD, RPVI, RVT, FAVLS

Sign up to Receive

Annual Congress Emails

Register Now