2023 AVLS Board Vote

2023 AVLS Board of Directors

Kathleen D. Gibson, MD, FACS, FAVLS, DABVLM President - 2023-2024
Satish Vayuvegula, MD, MS, FAVLS, DABVLM President-Elect - 2023-2024
John Blebea, MD, MBA, FACS Treasurer - 2023-2024
Zoe Deol, MD, FACS, FAVLS, DABVLM Secretary - 2023-2024
Mark H. Meissner, MD, FAVLS, DABVLM Past-President - 2023-2024
Linda Antonucci, RPhS, RVT, RDCS 2022-2023
Steven Dean, DO, FSVM, RPVI 2022-2023
Stephen Daugherty, MD, FACS, RVT, RPhS 2023-2024
Steve Elias, MD, FACS, FAVLS, DABVLM 2023-2024
Sergio Gianesini, MD, PhD 2022-2023
Kenneth Harper, MD, FACS, RPhS, RPVI, DABVLM 2023-2024
Raghu Kolluri, MD, MS, RVT, FSVM 2023-2024
Margaret Mann, MD, FAAD, FAVLS, DABVLM 2023-2024
Vineet Mishra, MD, FAAD, FAVLS, DABVLM 2023-2024
C. Christopher Pittman, MD, FAVLS, FACR, DABVLM 2023-2024
Jeffery Schoonover, MD, FAVLS, FAAFP, RVT, RPVI, DABVLM 2023-2024
Ronald S. Winokur, MD, FSIR, FAVLS, RPVI 2022-2023

New Directors for 2024-2025

Michael Di Iorio, MD 2024-2025

FVLD Board Director 2022-2023, Member since 2010

Dr. Di Iorio is a fellowship trained Vascular & Interventional Radiologist and Phlebologist with over 14 years experience in minimally invasive image guided vascular procedures. He is certified by the American Board of Radiology in both Vascular & Interventional Radiology and Diagnostic Radiology and is a Diplomate of the American Board of Venous & Lymphatic Medicine. He is also a Registered Physician in Vascular Interpretation, Registered Vascular Technologist and Registered Phlebology Sonographer. Dr. Di Iorio sits on the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Venous & Lymphatic Medicine as well as serving on multiple committees for the AVLS and ABVLM including the Advocacy Committee, SVS/AVF/AVLS Varicose Veins Writing Group, Chair of the Internet and Induring Materials Committee and Co-Chair of the Education Development Committee. Dr. Di Iorio is a graduate of the inaugural class of the American College of Phlebology (now AVLS) Leadership Academy and has been awarded Fellow status by the AVLS. In 2017 he founded South Austin Vein Center and serves as the CEO and Medical Director. Dr. Di Iorio dedicates 100% of his practice to the treatment of venous and lymphatic disease. In his free time, he enjoys cooking, running, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and spending time with his wife and 3.

Suman Wasan, MD, MS, RVT, MSVM, DABVLM 2024-2025

Member since 2013

Dr. Wasan is Clinical Professor of Medicine, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Vascular medicine specialist practicing at UNC Health Rex Vascular Specialists in Raleigh, NC. Dr. Wasan’s clinical and research interests include venous thromboembolism, chronic venous insufficiency, superficial venous disease and related disorders. She participates as Steering Committee member on the NIH funded CTRACT trial. Dr. Wasan has previously served on the Board of Directors of the Society of Vascular Medicine and American Board of Venous and Lymphatic Medicine.


Returning Directors for 2023-2024

Linda Antonucci, RVT, RPhS, RDCS 2024-2025

AVLS Board of Directors since 2020, Ultrasonography Speciality Section Chair, Audit Committee, Communications Standing Committee, Member Engagement Standing Committee, Member since 2007

Linda Antonucci, RPhS, RVT, RDCS is a nationally recognized and respected vascular ultrasound consultant and educator. She currently serves as the ultrasound section chair for the American Vein and Lymphatic Society Ultrasound Section. Linda is an ARDMS credentialed vascular and cardiac technologist and a CCI credentialed phlebology sonographer.

Linda’s 30+ years of experience in diagnostic imaging includes working at the New Jersey Vein Center since its inception in 1988, consulting for new vascular laboratories, and teaching ultrasound nationwide.

She has lectured for the American Vein & Lymphatic Society, American Venous Forum, International Society of Endovascular Specialists, Society for Vascular Ultrasound, Cardiovascular Credentialing International, AngioDynamics, Sigvaris, Phillips Medical Systems, Imaging Excellence, and at private medical practices in the New York metropolitan region.

Linda is the Technical Director for New Jersey Vein Center and an independent consultant specializing in advanced venous diagnostics. She is a member of the American Vein & Lymphatic Society, the American Venous Forum, and the Society for Vascular Ultrasound.

Ronald Winokur, MD, FSIR, RPVI 2024-2025

AVLS Board of Directors since 2019, 2021 Congress Planning Committee, Education Standing Committee, Research Standing Committee, Medical Student, Resident, Fellow Educatiton Committee, Member since 2013

Ronald S. Winokur, MD, FSIR, RPVI is a board-certified interventional radiologist who focuses on the minimally invasive treatment of venous conditions and is currently the Director of Venous Interventions and Associate Professor of Radiology at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital. Dr. Winokur attended Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University for medical school followed by Diagnostic Radiology residency at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital and Interventional Radiology fellowship at NewYork Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Cornell Medicine and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. After completing his fellowship, he was an Assistant Professor at NewYork Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Cornell Medicine caring for patients with superficial venous disease, deep venous disease and pelvic venous disease.

Dr. Winokur plays an active role in research and was a site Principal Investigator for the ATTRACT trial, ACCESS PTS trial, and Veniti Vici venous stent safety and efficacy trial. He has also published numerous articles involving the full gamut of venous disease and is interested in advancing the scientific evidence for management of pelvic venous disease. In addition to participation in AVLS, Dr. Winokur is a Venous Advisor for the Society of Interventional Radiology Service Line Advisory Board. He is also the current President of the New York Roentgen Society Interventional Radiology section.

Directors Rotating Off the Board

Steven Dean, DO, FSVM, RPVI 2022-2023
Sergio Gianesini, MD, PhD 2022-2023

Sign up to Receive

Annual Congress Emails

Stay in the Loop